Should you Homeschool?

Many parents might be struggling right now with a really big decision. Maybe last year was a tough year, or maybe it was a mediocre year, or maybe your child has some special needs that the school isn’t meeting, or maybe your child would like to dedicate more time to a passion in music  or art or sport, or maybe you would like to travel more – there are a ton of reasons why a parent might consider homeschooling their child. But when it comes down to it, how do you know if you can or should?

I would put money on it, if everyone were allowed to take a trial run at homeschooling (maybe take the month of October off and give it a whirl), our schools would be pretty deserted.

And I believe its safe to say that anyone who wanted to do it could absolutely do it successfully.

I was going to homeschool for a few months during a transition time, and to me that was a crazy decision. But I figured I could do anything for a short while. The big surprise came when I LOVED IT.

Suddenly doors opened for us that I hadn’t even considered. We could travel. We could do all kinds of cool activities during the week. There was so much more time in a day! We were closer as a family (I thought we would be ready to strangle each other after the second week). We never had to worry about having time to eat a meal at the table together in a day. We were all less stressed.

So I have decided to keep on homeschooling. I don’t know if I’ll do it for another year or until they all graduate from high school, but this year we are going to homeschool.

If you are undecided, I would urge you to try it. Give it a year or until Christmas or even Halloween – that’s not such a big commitment, Its the only way you are going to know for sure.

If you do decide to give it a try or if you already did, I would love to hear from you. How did it turn out? Are there more people out there like me who were surprised by what homeschooling really looks like?

For a more in depth look at the pros and cons of homeschooling and help with making the big decision, check out my book Modern Homeschooling!

Image

About Jennifer McGarry

Jennifer Charboneau was born and raised in British Columbia Canada and moved to Arizona with her husband and three children in 2009. Alongside her husband Kevin she has started and run several businesses and continues to pursue her entrepreneurial goals while homeschooling their children.

Posted on July 26, 2013, in Education, Gifted children, Gifted education, Homeschool, Parenting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I was homeschooled all the way through (full homeschool – eclectic/unschooling K-9; blended with brick-and-mortar in grade 10 and 11; online teacher-directed in grade 12) and it was great! I’m now graduated university with a BA with Distinction and starting my Master’s degree in the fall. My Dad quit his job to stay home with me when I turned 5 and my mom bumped up her work hours from part-time to fulltime (she had just started her career, while Dad had had a chance to work for a while). Home education was the right choice for us because before home educating, my parents would come home from work, eat supper, watch tv, do more work, and flop into bed, just to do it all over again. Home education meant that we could have a simpler, quieter pace of life – there was somebody home to support the working parent by caring for me, cooking the meals, doing the laundry, cleaning, and so on. AND, it meant that I got to have a real relationship with my Dad, which would’ve likely been much less close otherwise! Homeschooling isn’t for everybody though. It only fits some lifestyles and some personalities. We all get along as a family; that helps a lot. And we could afford to have one parent stay at home. Mom would’ve gone stir-crazy if she had had to homeschool me – and we would’ve sniped at each other all the time! Not a positive environment.

    • Teresa,
      Thank you so much for your comment – I love hearing from people who have lived the homeschool life as a child. I hope my children can bring as much insight and perspective to their homeschool experience as you clearly have!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 175 other followers

